Dear Mom

I hated it when you were sick;
how angry I’d get when
you moved too quickly,
how mad you’d be for being so weak.

So don’t be frail, now,
stay here longer.
I don’t want to lose you.
Stay here
before I lose myself with you.

You told me to take care of you
and then told me to pay
attention to my needs
when I was lost with yours.

Please, don’t be weak, now,
breathe longer.
I don’t want to lose you.
Stay here
before your struggle runs too deep.

And then I’d say to myself
“why did I not do this sooner,”
taking care of you was bliss
but not like this, like this…

just don’t be frail, now,
last longer.
I don’t want to lose you.
stay here, move closer
before you drift away from me.

>>Daily prompt

9 thoughts on “Dear Mom

    • It is, I had written it three days earlier, before I knew about the prompt.
      Not sure how that fits with the rules of daily wordpress prompts though.
      Thanks for commenting, I appreciate it :)

  1. Pingback: CONFESSIONAL AFTERMATH « hastywords

Leave a Reply

